Eid al-Fitr holiday: How many days is it by country?

Eid al-Fitr holidays in 2017 range from 23 days in Saudi Arabia to three in Pakistan.

    Official Eid al-Fitr holidays for 2017 [Al Jazeera]
    Official Eid al-Fitr holidays for 2017 [Al Jazeera]

    Traditionally, Eid al-Fitr is celebrated for three days as an official holiday in all Muslim-majority countries.

    However, the number of vacation days varies by country and also depends on the date on which Eid al-Fitr is observed in each country.

    In 2017, Eid al-Fitr has been declared on Sunday June 25 by most countries, and Monday June 26 by some countries.

    Meanwhile, the following public holidays have been officially announced:

    • Saudi Arabia: 23-day public holiday from the 21st of Ramadan until the 15th of Shawal, the lunar month that follows Ramadan. That is, from Friday June 16 until Saturday July 8.
    • Qatar: 11-day holiday from Friday June 23 until Monday July 3. 
    • EgyptUAEKuwait: Five-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Tuesday June 27.
    • Oman: Nine-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Saturday July 1.
    • JordanPalestine: Six-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Wednesday June 28. 
    • Nigeria: Four-day holiday from Saturday June 24 until Tuesday June 27.
    • Pakistan: Three-day holiday from Monday June 26 until Wednesday June 28. 
    • LebanonPhilippinesGhana: Three-day holiday from Saturday June 24 until Monday June 26.

    Eid has been a public holiday in the Philippines since 2002, established by the Republic Act 9177.

    2016 Eid holidays

    In 2016, Eid al-Fitr was celebrated on July 6, and the following public holidays were observed:

    • Saudi Arabia: 11-day Eid holiday, from Thursday June 30 until Sunday July 10.
    • Qatar: 11-day Eid holiday, from Sunday July 3 until Monday July 11, including the July 1-2 weekend.
    • UAE and Bangladesh: Nine-day Eid holiday, from Friday July 1 until Saturday July 9.
    • Turkey: Nine-day Eid holiday, from Saturday July 2 until Sunday July 10.
    • Oman: Five-day holiday, from Tuesday July 5 until Saturday July 9.
    • Pakistan: Four-day holiday, from Tuesday July 5 until Friday July 8.

    SOURCE: Al Jazeera


    YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

    Can Muslim leaders alter Trump's Jerusalem decision?

    Can Muslim leaders alter Trump's Jerusalem decision?

    Turkish president calls Jerusalem a 'red line' as he hosts an Organisation of Islamic Cooperation summit in Istanbul.

    'Beaten' Palestinian boy in viral photo charged

    'Beaten' Palestinian boy in viral photo charged

    Fawzi al-Junaidi, 16, denies accusations of throwing stones and protesting, saying he was severely beaten by Israelis.

    Donald Trump: A president swallowed by history

    Donald Trump: A president swallowed by history

    The US has tried and failed to create a capital for another state before. "Israeli" Jerusalem will be the next Saigon.