Australia win Netball World Cup for 11th time

Australia survive late fightback from New Zealand to seal third successive triumph; England take bronze.

Members of the Australian team stand on the podium wearing their medals after winning their Netball World Cup final game against New Zealand in Sydney
Australia have won 11 of the 14 World Cups [Reuters]

Australia captured the Netball World Cup for the 11th time, surviving a late fightback from New Zealand to win the final 58-55.

The New Zealanders outscored the Australians in each of the last three quarters but were unable to erase a nine-goal deficit from the opening quarter.

World Cup winners
2015 – Australia
2011 – Australia
2007 – Australia
2003 – New Zealand
1999 – Australia
1995 – Australia
1991 – Australia
1987 – New Zealand
1983 – Australia
1979 – T&T, Aus, NZ
1975 – Australia
1971 – Australia
1967 – New Zealand
1963 – Australia

Australian goal shooter Caitlin Bassett netted 48 of her 51 shots while goal attack Natalie Medhurst made 10 of 13 for the Diamonds.

The Silver Ferns had 11 more shots at goal than the Australians but were less accurate, with goal attack Maria Tutaia landing 38 of 53 attempts and goal shooter Bailey Mes draining 17 from 22.

For the Australians, the win marked their 11th title from 14 editions of the tournaments, dating back to 1963, and their third in a row.

New Zealand finished runners-up for the third time in succession after winning the tournament outright in 1967, 1987 and 2003 and being declared joint-champions with Australia and Trinidad and Tobago in 1979.

England easily beat Jamaica 66-44 to win the bronze medal match at Sydney’s SuperDome.

Trailing by five goals at the end of the first quarter, the Roses took the lead in the second quarter and cruised to victory, with goal shooter Joanne Harten chalking up 52 goals.

Source: Reuters