Washington, DC - US President Donald Trump has signed a new immigration order, banning travellers from six Muslim-majority nations, excluding Iraq.

The leader of the Democrats in the Senate has called the order "mean spirited and un-American".

Civil rights groups say the new wording doesn't change the intent.

The new ban will not affect people who have already been issued US visas.

It replaces an order signed in late January, which was blocked by a court in Washington.

US & Canada, United States, Politics