Middle East
Lebanon's unity government
A list of the 30 members of the Lebanese cabinet agreed after months of negotiations.
Last Modified: 09 Nov 2009 20:44 GMT

Saad al-Hariri was able to form a cabinet after months of wrangling [EPA]

Lebanon's new unity cabinet contains 15 members of the majority coalition led by Saad al-Hariri, 10 from the opposition bloc and another five appointed by Michel Sleiman, the president.

The list below includes each member's political affiliation and the community they come from.

Prime minister: Saad Hariri (majority, Sunni)

Defence minister: Elias Murr (appointed by president, Greek Orthodox, unchanged). Murr was also appointed deputy premier.

Foreign minister: Ali al-Shami (opposition, Shia)
Interior minister: Ziad Baroud (appointed by president, Maronite, unchanged)

Finance minister: Raya Haffar (majority, Sunni)
Telecommunications minister: Charbel Nahhas (opposition, Catholic)

Information minister: Tareq Mitri (majority, Greek Orthodox, unchanged)

Justice minister: Ibrahim Najjar (majority, Greek Orthodox, unchanged)

Public works and transport minister: Ghazi Aridi (majority, Druze, unchanged)

Sports and youth minister: Ali Abdullah (opposition, Shia)

Education minister: Hassan Mneimneh (majority, Sunni)

Displaced persons minister: Akram Shehayeb (majority, Druze)

Energy and water minister: Gibran Bassil (opposition, Maronite, moves from telecommunications)

Labour minister: Boutros Harb (majority, Maronite)

Agriculture minister: Hussein Hajj Hassan (opposition, Shia, Hezbollah)

Health minister: Mohammad Khalifeh (opposition, Shia, unchanged)

Social affairs minister: Salim Sayegh (majority, Maronite)

Industry minister: Abraham Dadayan (opposition, Armenian Orthodox)

Tourism minister: Fadi Abboud (opposition, Maronite)

Culture minister: Salim Wardeh (majority, Catholic)

Environment minister: Mohamed Rahhal (majority, Sunni)

Economy and trade minister: Mohammed Safadi (majority, Sunni, unchanged)

State minister for administrative development: Mohammed Fneish (opposition, Shia, Hezbollah, moves from labour)

State minister for parliamentary affairs: Michel Pharaon (majority, Catholic)

State minister: Adnan Sayyed Hussein (appointed by president, Shia)

State minister: Wael Bou Faour (majority, Druze, unchanged)

State minister: Adnan Qassar (appointed by president, Sunni)

State minister: Yussuf Saadeh (opposition, Maronite)

State minister: Jean Ogassapian (majority, Armenian, unchanged)

State minister: Mona Ofeish (appointed by president, Greek Orthodox)

Topics in this article
Featured on Al Jazeera
'Justice for All' demonstrations swell across the US over the deaths of African Americans in police encounters.
Six former Guantanamo detainees are now free in Uruguay with some hailing the decision to grant them asylum.
Disproportionately high number of Aboriginal people in prison highlights inequality and marginalisation, critics say.
Nearly half of Canadians have suffered inappropriate advances on the job - and the political arena is no exception.
Women's rights activists are demanding change after Hanna Lalango, 16, was gang-raped on a bus and left for dead.
Buried in Sweden's northern forest, Sorsele has welcomed many unaccompanied kids who help stabilise a town exodus.
A look at the changing face of North Korea, three years after the death of 'Dear Leader'.
While some fear a Muslim backlash after café killings, solidarity instead appears to be the order of the day.
Victims spared by the deadly disease are reporting blindness and other unexpected post-Ebola health issues.