Isco, Arbeloa left out of Spain squad

Coach Vicente del Bosque includes Fernando Torres and Brazilian-born Diego Costa in the Spanish squad.

Spain are vying to become the first nation to win four straight major international trophies [AFP]
Spain are vying to become the first nation to win four straight major international trophies [AFP]

Spain’s preliminary 30-player squad for the World Cup featured few surprises, with Brazilian-born striker Diego Costa included in the team.

The defending champions sent their preliminary list to FIFA, with coach Vicente del Bosque to announce the final 23-man squad on May 25.

David de Gea replaces injured goalkeeper Victor Valdes, while fullback Alvaro Arbeloa, who has been part of Spain’s two European Championship triumphs and its World Cup win in South Africa, was left out despite returning from a long-term injury.

Spain are vying to become the first nation to win four straight major international trophies.

Uncapped Dani Carvajal and Ander Iturraspe were named in Spain’s provisional World Cup squad.

Spain have been the dominant force in the international game in recent years having also won back-to-back European Championships and there is a good balance of youth and experience in the squad.

Carvajal has made rapid progress this season at Real Madrid having taken the regular right-back slot from Alvaro Arbeloa, who was one of the surprise omissions from the squad.

Isco has struggled to find his best form in the second half of the season after initially impressing at Madrid, which has now cost him his place in Del Bosque’s roster. 

Iturraspe has been a crucial cog in the Athletic Bilbao team who have qualified for the Champions League with his slick passing from deep in midfield.

Spain are in Group B along with the Netherlands, Chile and Australia.


Spain’s 30-man World Cup squad

Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United)

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Juanfran Torres (Atletico Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Koke Resurreccion (Atletico Madrid), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Jesus Navas (Manchester City), David Silva (Manchester City), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Fernando Llorente (Juventus)

Source: AP

More from Sports
Most Read