World Cup


UK, Ireland submit joint bid to host Euro 2028

England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and Ireland submit an application to host the 2028 European Championship.

The UEFA logo is pictured at the entrance of the UEFA Headquarters, in Nyon, Switzerland
Europe's football governing body says the list of bidders will be announced in April [File: Jean-Christophe Bott/EPA]

England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and Ireland have submitted a joint expression of interest (EOI) to host the European Championship in 2028, according to the countries’ football associations.

Britain and Ireland had last month announced plans for a bid to host the tournament after dropping plans to bid for the 2030 World Cup, following a feasibility study.

“The governments of the UK, Ireland, Scotland and Wales have confirmed their support for the EOI submission and, given the Northern Ireland Executive is currently not meeting formally, officials there continue to observe the process closely,” they said in a joint statement on Wednesday.

“Over the coming months, we will develop our proposals further, subject to the publication by UEFA of the full technical specification,” the statement said.

“This includes engaging in discussions with possible host cities and stadia to define the optimum tournament, model and conducting a full costs and benefits analysis.”

Minimum requirements

UEFA said in October last year that countries interested in hosting the 2028 European Championship must confirm their bid by March 23.

The list of bidders will be announced in April while the hosts will be appointed in September 2023.

Minimum requirements include having 10 stadiums available, with one having a capacity of at least 60,000 and two venues with at least 50,000 seats.

Europe’s football governing body also said automatic qualification as hosts would not be guaranteed if more than two countries submitted a joint bid.

The 2024 tournament will be hosted by Germany.

Source: News Agencies