Stan Wawrinka won the French Open by beating world number one Novak Djokovic 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4 in the final.

The eighth-seeded Wawrinka, booed by the crowd while palying French opponents this year, collected his second major title after last year's Australian Open.

Last 10 winners
2015 - Stanislas Wawrinka 
2014 - Rafa Nadal
2013 - Rafa Nadal 
2012 - Rafa Nadal 
2011 - Rafa Nadal 
2010 - Rafa Nadal 
2009 - Roger Federer 
2008 - Rafa Nadal 
2007 - Rafa Nadal 
2006 - Rafa Nadal

The defeat marks Djokovic's third in as many finals at Roland Garros, thwarting his bid to win the only grand slam missing from his collection.

Wawrinka also put a stop to Djokovic's 28-match winning streak and left the 28-year-old Serb ruing another close call at Roland Garros.

"I played the match of my life, it's hard to believe," Wawrinka said courtside.

"Playing against Novak was one of the biggest challenges. I know how much he wanted this Roland Garros. It was a crazy atmosphere these two weeks. I'd like to thank you."

Wawrinka used his superb one-handed backhand to devastating effect, hitting flat groundstrokes that wore down eight-time grand slam champion Djokovic. 

He sealed victory on his second match point with his 60th winner, a flashing backhand down the line that made him the second Swiss player to prevail Porte d'Auteuil after Roger Federer in 2009.

Djokovic unbeaten streak had stretched to 28 prior to this loss [Getty Images]

Source: Al Jazeera and agencies