Mali: Anger over G5 Sahel headquarters transfer to Bamako

The G5 Sahel force includes Burkina Faso, Chad, Mauritania, Niger as well as Mali, and people in Bamako do not want its headquarters based there.

Police in Mali’s capital have fired tear gas at protesters after demonstrations broke out near a military barracks.

Tension is growing over the deployment of a West African regional security force.

Dozens of people were killed in the latest flare-up of ethnic fighting earlier this week.

Al Jazeera’s Malcolm Webb reports.