Barcelona crowned La Liga champions

Messi on target as Barca beat holders Atletico for 23rd league crown; Real’s challenge ends despite win at Espanyol.

Barcelona have won five of the last seven league titles [Getty Images]
Barcelona have won five of the last seven league titles [Getty Images]

Treble-chasing Barcelona are La Liga champions for the fifth time in seven years after a clinical Lionel Messi strike secured a 1-0 victory away to Atletico Madrid that wrapped up the title with a game to spare.

Last 10 La Liga winners
2005-06: Barcelona            
2006-07: Real Madrid         
2007-08: Real Madrid         
2008-09: Barcelona           
2009-10: Barcelona           
2010-11: Barcelona           
2011-12: Real Madrid         
2012-13: Barcelona            
2013-14: Atletico Madrid      
2014-15: Barcelona            

Elsewhere, Cristiano Ronaldo hit a hat-trick for Real Madrid in their 4-1 victory away to Espanyol but Barca cannot be caught now with a four point lead.

Messi combined with Pedro Rodriguez and then slotted home from the centre of the penalty area with 65 minutes gone.

It had been a cagey game but the talent of the Argentine shone through again to break the deadlock and help Luis Enrique to his first piece of silverware at the helm of Barcelona.

The Catalan side have dominated the list of La Liga titles in recent years and remain on course to repeat their trophy treble of 2009.

They are through to the Champions League final on June 6 to face Juventus and will play Athletic Bilbao in the King’s Cup showpiece on May 30.


Atletico Madrid 0-1 Barcelona

Cordoba 1-2 Rayo Vallecano

Deportivo Coruna 2-0 Levante

Elche 2-3 Athletic Club

Getafe 1-1 Eibar

Espanyol 1-4 Real Madrid

Real Sociedad 0-3 Granada CF

Sevilla 2-1 Almeria

Valencia 1-1 Celta Vigo

Villarreal 2-1 Malaga 1

Source : Al Jazeera, News Agencies


Comparing the numbers behind the three biggest events in the sports world – London 2012, Brazil 2014 and 2015 Cricket WC

15 Apr 2015
More from Sports
Most Read