Double points for F1 season finale from 2014

Fifty points on offer in the last GP from next year as the FIA aims to keep title alive until the last race.

A driver can claim 50 points instead of 25 for winning the final race of the season [Getty Images]

Formula One will award double points for the last race of the season starting next year, according to the FIA.

A driver will be able to claim 50 points instead of 25 for taking the chequered flag, which means we could have the championship title decided at the season finale.

Double points will be offered in the constructor’s championship as well.

The governing body of motor sports said that doubling the points for drivers and teams in the last race on the calendar – Abu Dhabi GP for 2014 – will maximise focus on the championship until the end as it becomes less likely the title will already be decided by then.

Three world titles would have been won by drivers other than the eventual champion if the system had been in place for the past two decades.

In other changes approved in a meeting of the F1 Strategy Group and the Formula One Commission on Monday, drivers will be allowed to choose a number between two and 99 to put on their cars for their entire career.

The reigning champion will still be given the number one.

If more than one driver choses the same number, priority will be given to the driver who finished highest in the previous year’s championship.

Five-second penalty

The principle of a five-second penalty for minor infringements was also agreed.

In what form such a penalty will be applied will be discussed with the Formula One teams in order that a new regulation be introduced for 2014 season.

Meanwhile, the principle of a global cost cap has been adopted and the limit will be applied from January 2015.

The F1 Commission has also agreed to a change to the 2013 Sporting Regulations, on safety grounds, allowing the Formula One tyre supplier to carry out an extra three-day test in Bahrain from December 17, 2013.

All Formula One teams have been invited to take part in the test and six have accepted: Red Bull Racing, Mercedes, Ferrari, McLaren, Force India and Toro Rosso.

Source: Al Jazeera, News Agencies