Pedrosa wins Indianapolis MotoGP

Spain’s Dani Pedrosa closes the gap on championship leader Jorge Lorenzo notching up his second win of the season.

Dani Pedrosa
Pedrosa’s dominant victory at the Indianapolis circuit closes the gap to within 18 points of MotoGP leader Jorge Lorenzo [EPA]

Pole sitter Dani Pedrosa cruised to victory in Sunday’s Indianapolis MotoGP, finishing nearly 11 seconds ahead of fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo.

Pedrosa, on a Honda, completed the 28-lap course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 49min 39.631sec, 10.823sec ahead of Yahama’s Lorenzo.

The 26-year-old claimed his 17th career Moto GP win while Lorenzo stayed on top of the world championship standings.

Yamaha’s Italian rider Andrea Dovizioso finished third 17.310sec behind Pedrosa.

Pedrosa, Lorenzo and Dovizioso comprised the first row for the start of the race. Pedrosa last won here in 2010 and it was his first win from pole position since the 2010 San Marino Grand Prix.

Last year’s winner Casey Stoner of Australia finished fourth at 19.803.

Stoner, the 2011 MotoGP world champion who plans to retire at the end of the season, was riding with special footwear after suffering torn ligaments and a slightly fractured right ankle in Saturday’s qualifying round.

Source: AFP

More from Sports
Most Read