Button races to first pole for McLaren

The Belgium Grand Prix is perfectly poised after unpredictable qualifying session ends with McLaren's Jenson Button top.

    Button races to first pole for McLaren
    Not a familiar top three! Kobayashi (L) and Maldonado (R) join Button on the podium after qualifying [EPA]

    There were surprises around every corner of qualifying for the Belgium Grand Prix on Saturday. 

    First was the speed of McLaren driver Jenson Button who at long last ended his pole duck. It was remarkably the Brits' first ever pole position for McLaren and since the 2009 Monaco Grand Prix. The 2009 World Champion hasn't led the field for 60 races and claimed the result was like winning a Grand Prix for him.  

    Button was fastest on a grid which has taken an even stranger shape than before the break. Few would have predicted Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi in second place (his highest ever start) and Pastor Maldonado in third on Sunday. However, the Venezuelan was later demoted three grid positions to sixth for holding up Force India's Nico Hulkenberg on a turn. 

    Lotus' Kimmi Raikkonen moved up to third to replace Maldonado. 

    Button clocked a best lap time at the historic Spa Francorchamps circuit of 1 min 47.573 sec, edging out Kobayashi by two tenths of a second.  

    Reigning Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel did not even qualify for Q3 and will have to get his season back on track from 11th position. Current leader Fernando Alonso starts in fifth with Lewis Hamilton in a frustrating seventh position alongside Mark Webber.    

    Sauber completed a very successful day with Sergio Perez starting in fourth position. 

    Romain Grosjean and Paul Di Resta completed the top 10 places.

    With a grid like this, it is anyone's guess who can claim the title in Belgium, a track which provides plenty of opportunities for overtaking.

    Can the strangest season for many years get even stranger?

    Grid for Belgium Grand Prix: 

    1st row
    Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes)
    Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber-Ferrari)

    2nd row
    Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus-Renault)
    Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber-Ferrari)

    3rd row
    Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari)
    Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams-Renault) 

    4th row
    Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes)
    Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus-Renault)

    5th row
    Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India-Mercedes)
    Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull-Renault)

    6th row
    Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India-Mercedes)
    Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull-Renault)

    7th row
    Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes-AMG)
    Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari)

    8th row
    Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso-Ferrari)
    Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso-Ferrari)

    9th row
    Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams-Renault)
    Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham-Renault)

    10th row
    Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham-Renault)
    Timo Glock (GER/Marussia-Cosworth)

    11th row
    Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT-Cosworth)
    Charles Pic (FRA/Marussia-Cosworth)

    12th row
    Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes-AMG)
    Narain Karthikeyan (IND/HRT-Cosworth)

    SOURCE: Al Jazeera


    Cricket World Cup 2019 Quiz: How many runs can you score?

    Cricket World Cup 2019 Quiz: How many runs can you score?

    Pick your team and answer as many correct questions in three minutes.

    Visualising every Saudi coalition air raid on Yemen

    Visualising every Saudi coalition air raid on Yemen

    Since March 2015, Saudi Arabia and a coalition of Arab states have launched more than 19,278 air raids across Yemen.

    Remembering Chernobyl

    Remembering Chernobyl

    The fallout from the Chernobyl nuclear power plant explosion remains as politicised as ever, 28 years on.