Full list of all the Nobel Peace Prize winners

Comprehensive list of Nobel Peace Prize laureates since award was instituted in 1901.

    Full list of all the Nobel Peace Prize winners
    Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, her compatriot Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni activist Tawakkul Karman shared last year's prize [EPA]

    Here is the full list of Nobel Peace Prize laureates from 1901, when the prize was first awarded:

    2017: International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)
    Juan Manuel Santos
    Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet
    Kailash Satyarthi, Malala Yousafzai
    2013: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
    2012: The European Union (EU)
    2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (Liberia), Tawakkul Karman (Yemen)
    2010: Liu Xiaobo (China)
    2009: Barack Obama (US)
    2008: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)
    2007: Al Gore (US) and the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
    2006: Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh) and the Grameen Bank
    2005: International Atomic Energy Agency and Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt)
    2004: Wangari Maathai (Kenya)
    2003: Shirin Ebadi (Iran)
    2002: Jimmy Carter (US)
    2001: Kofi Annan (Ghana) and the United Nations
    2000: Kim Dae Jung (South Korea)
    1999: Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors Without Borders)
    1998: John Hume and David Trimble (Northern Ireland)
    1997: Jody Williams (US) and the International Campaign to Ban Landmines
    1996: Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo and Jose Ramos-Horta (East Timor)
    1995: Joseph Rotblat (Britain) and the Pugwash movement
    1994: Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres (Israel) and Yasser Arafat (PLO)
    1993: Nelson Mandela and Frederik de Klerk (South Africa)
    1992: Rigoberta Menchu (Guatemala)
    1991: Aung San Suu Kyi (Burma)
    1990: Mikhail Gorbachev (Soviet Union)
    1989: Dalai Lama (Tibet)
    1988: United Nations Peacekeeping Forces
    1987: Oscar Arias Sanchez (Costa Rica)
    1986: Elie Wiesel (US)
    1985: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
    1984: Desmond Tutu (South Africa)
    1983: Lech Walesa (Poland)
    1982: Alva Myrdal (Sweden) and Alfonso Garcia Robles (Mexico)
    1981: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
    1980: Adolfo Perez Esquivel (Argentina)
    1979: Mother Teresa (Albania)
    1978: Anwar Sadat (Egypt) and Menachem Begin (Israel)
    1977: Amnesty International
    1976: Betty Williams (Britain) and Mairead Corrigan (Northern Ireland)
    1975: Andrei Sakharov (Soviet Union)
    1974: Sean MacBride (Ireland) and Eisaku Sato (Japan)
    1973: Henry Kissinger (US) and Le Duc Tho (Vietnam, declined)
    1972: prize not handed out
    1971: Willy Brandt (Germany)
    1970: Norman Borlaug (US)
    1969: International Labour Organisation
    1968: Rene Cassin (France)
    1967: prize not handed out
    1966: prize not handed out
    1965: United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
    1964: Martin Luther King Jr (US)
    1963: International Committee of the Red Cross and the League of Red Cross Societies
    1962: Linus Carl Pauling (US)
    1961: Dag Hammarskjold (Sweden)
    1960: Albert Lutuli (South Africa)
    1959: Philip Noel-Baker (Britain)
    1958: Georges Pire (Belgium)
    1957: Lester Pearson (Canada)
    1956: prize not handed out
    1955: prize not handed out
    1954: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
    1953: George Marshall (US)
    1952: Albert Schweitzer (France)
    1951: Leon Jouhaux (France)
    1950: Ralph Bunche (US)
    1949: Lord (John) Boyd Orr of Brechin (Britain)
    1948: prize not handed out
    1947: Friends Service Council (The Quakers), American Friends Service Committee (The Quakers)
    1946: Emily Greene Balch (US), John Raleigh Mott (US)
    1945: Cordell Hull (US)
    1944: International Committee of the Red Cross
    1943: prize not handed out
    1942: prize not handed out
    1941: prize not handed out
    1940: prize not handed out
    1939: prize not handed out
    1938: Nansen International Office for Refugees
    1937: Viscount Cecil of Chelwood (Britain)
    1936: Carlos Saavedra Lamas (Argentina)
    1935: Carl von Ossietzky (Germany)
    1934: Arthur Henderson (Britain)
    1933: Sir Norman Angell (Ralph Lane) (Britain)
    1932: prize not handed out
    1931: Jane Addams (US) and Nicholas Murray Butler (US)
    1930: Nathan Soederblom (Sweden)
    1929: Frank Billings Kellogg (US)
    1928: prize not handed out
    1927: Ferdinand Buisson (France) and Ludwig Quidde (Germany)
    1926: Aristide Briand (France) and Gustav Stresemann (Germany)
    1925: Sir Austen Chamberlain (Britain) and Charles Gates Dawes (US)
    1924: prize not handed out
    1923: prize not handed out
    1922: Fridtjof Nansen (Norway)
    1921: Karl Hjalmar Branting (Sweden) and Christian Lous Lange (Norway)
    1920: Leon Victor Auguste Bourgeois (France)
    1919: Thomas Woodrow Wilson (US)
    1918: Prize not handed out
    1917: International Committee of the Red Cross
    1916: Prize not handed out
    1915: Prize not handed out
    1914: Prize not handed out
    1913: Henri La Fontaine (Belgium)
    1912: Elihu Root (US)
    1911: Tobias Michael Carel Asser (The Netherlands) and Alfred Hermann Fried (Austria)
    1910: Permanent International Peace Bureau
    1909: Auguste Marie François Beernaert (Belgium) and Paul Henri Benjamin Balluet, Baron d'Estournelles de Constant de Rebecque (France)
    1908: Klas Pontus Arnoldson (Sweden) and Fredrik Bajer (Denmark)
    1907: Ernesto Teodoro Moneta (Italy) and Louis Renault (France)
    1906: Theodore Roosevelt (US)
    1905: Baroness Bertha Sophie Felicita von Suttner (Austria)
    1904: Institute of International Law
    1903: William Randal Cremer (Britain)
    1902: Elie Ducommun (Switzerland) and Charles Albert Gobat (Switzerland)
    1901: Jean Henri Dunant (Switzerland) and Frederic Passy (France)


    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    What obstacles do young women in technology have to overcome to achieve their dreams? Play this retro game to find out.

    Heron Gate mass eviction: 'We never expected this in Canada'

    Hundreds face mass eviction in Canada's capital

    About 150 homes in one of Ottawa's most diverse and affordable communities are expected to be torn down in coming months

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    In 1959, a year before Nigeria's independence, a 23-year-old student helped colour the country's identity.