Eid al-Fitr holiday: How many days is it by country?

Eid al-Fitr holidays in 2017 range from 23 days in Saudi Arabia to three in Pakistan.

    Official Eid al-Fitr holidays for 2017 [Al Jazeera]
    Official Eid al-Fitr holidays for 2017 [Al Jazeera]

    Traditionally, Eid al-Fitr is celebrated for three days as an official holiday in all Muslim-majority countries.

    However, the number of vacation days varies by country and also depends on the date on which Eid al-Fitr is observed in each country.

    In 2017, Eid al-Fitr has been declared on Sunday June 25 by most countries, and Monday June 26 by some countries.

    Meanwhile, the following public holidays have been officially announced:

    • Saudi Arabia: 23-day public holiday from the 21st of Ramadan until the 15th of Shawal, the lunar month that follows Ramadan. That is, from Friday June 16 until Saturday July 8.
    • Qatar: 11-day holiday from Friday June 23 until Monday July 3. 
    • EgyptUAEKuwait: Five-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Tuesday June 27.
    • Oman: Nine-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Saturday July 1.
    • JordanPalestine: Six-day holiday, from Friday June 23 until Wednesday June 28. 
    • Nigeria: Four-day holiday from Saturday June 24 until Tuesday June 27.
    • Pakistan: Three-day holiday from Monday June 26 until Wednesday June 28. 
    • LebanonPhilippinesGhana: Three-day holiday from Saturday June 24 until Monday June 26.

    Eid has been a public holiday in the Philippines since 2002, established by the Republic Act 9177.

    2016 Eid holidays

    In 2016, Eid al-Fitr was celebrated on July 6, and the following public holidays were observed:

    • Saudi Arabia: 11-day Eid holiday, from Thursday June 30 until Sunday July 10.
    • Qatar: 11-day Eid holiday, from Sunday July 3 until Monday July 11, including the July 1-2 weekend.
    • UAE and Bangladesh: Nine-day Eid holiday, from Friday July 1 until Saturday July 9.
    • Turkey: Nine-day Eid holiday, from Saturday July 2 until Sunday July 10.
    • Oman: Five-day holiday, from Tuesday July 5 until Saturday July 9.
    • Pakistan: Four-day holiday, from Tuesday July 5 until Friday July 8.

    SOURCE: Al Jazeera


    YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

    Why some African Americans are moving to Africa

    Escaping systemic racism: Why I quit New York for Accra

    African-Americans are returning to the lands of their ancestors as life becomes precarious and dangerous in the USA.

    Why Jerusalem is not the capital of Israel

    Why Jerusalem is not the capital of Israel

    No country in the world recognises Jerusalem as Israel's capital.

    North Korea's nuclear weapons: Here is what we know

    North Korea's nuclear weapons