Vettel wins action-packed Hungarian Grand Prix

Ferrari's four-time world champion led from the first corner to seal his second win of the season.

    Vettel wins action-packed Hungarian Grand Prix
    With his 41st GP win, Vettel is tied with Senna at third in the all-time list [Getty Images]

    Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel won an action-packed Hungarian Grand Prix for the first time while Nico Rosberg blew his chances of catching Lewis Hamilton in the title race when he punctured a tyre towards the end.

    Tribute for Bianchi
    Jules Bianchi's family joined F1 racers in a sad circle on the Hungarian GP starting grid to pay tribute to the late Frenchman.
    Arm in arm, with the team principals standing behind and F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone alongside, they stood for a minute's silence before the Hungarian national anthem was sung.
    At the end, the 20 drivers collected their helmets from inside the circle, leaving Bianchi's briefly alone on the asphalt.
    Bianchi's funeral was held in Nice on Tuesday, with drivers including F1 champions past and present attending, after he died of injuries sustained in last October's Japanese Grand Prix.

    It was the four-time world champion's 41st career win and first since the Malaysian GP in the second race of this season.

    Red Bull took advantage of late chaos as Russian driver Daniil Kvyat placed second and Daniel Ricciardo, who clipped Rosberg, took third.

    Vettel's win put the German driver back into the title race, as Hamilton finished sixth and Rosberg eighth.

    The race completely changed after German driver Nico Hulkenberg crashed and the virtual safety car came out, with Vettel in total control at that point.

    With five laps to go and Hamilton well out of contention, Rosberg was catching Vettel. But Ricciardo - the winner here last year - tried a daring overtaking move and instead ran into the back of the German driver, puncturing his left tyre.

    Instead of gaining points from Hamilton, Rosberg slipped further back in the title race.

    It is the first time Hamilton has failed to finish on the podium since the Belgian GP last August, where he was nudged off the track by Rosberg and retired.

    "I'm so sorry guys, really sorry," a contrite Hamilton said on radio.


    1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 
    2. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull - Renault 
    3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault  
    4. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso - Renault 
    5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 
    6. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes  
    7. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Mercedes  
    8. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 
    9. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren  
    10. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari

    SOURCE: Al Jazeera and agencies


    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    What obstacles do young women in technology have to overcome to achieve their dreams? Play this retro game to find out.

    Heron Gate mass eviction: 'We never expected this in Canada'

    Hundreds face mass eviction in Canada's capital

    About 150 homes in one of Ottawa's most diverse and affordable communities are expected to be torn down in coming months

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    In 1959, a year before Nigeria's independence, a 23-year-old student helped colour the country's identity.