Rosberg wins Monaco GP after Hamilton's pit-stop error

Hamilton pitted from the lead as the safety car came out only to join third

    Rosberg has won at Monaco for three years running [Getty Images]
    Rosberg has won at Monaco for three years running [Getty Images]

    Nico Rosberg won the Monaco Grand Prix for the third straight year after a late crash involving teenager Max Verstappen undid Lewis Hamilton's bid for a fourth win of the season.

    Hamilton looked set to take his 37th career win after leading from the start, until the 17-year-old Verstappen rammed his Toro Rosso into the back of Romain Grosjean as he tried to overtake the Lotus driver.

    Driver standings (top-10)
    1.  Lewis Hamilton - 126    
    2.  Nico Rosberg - 116    
    3.  Sebastian Vettel - 98     
    4.  Kimi Raikkonen - 60     
    5.  Valtteri Bottas - 42     
    6.  Felipe Massa - 39     
    7.  Daniel Ricciardo - 35     
    8.  Daniil Kvyat - 17     
    9.  Felipe Nasr - 16     
    10. Romain Grosjean - 16

    That meant a safety car had to come out at the start of the 64th lap, and when Hamilton was then called in for a pit stop, he suddenly found himself behind both Rosberg and Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel.

    When the safety car finally went off track, Hamilton had only a few laps to try and get past Vettel and Rosberg on the most difficult track to overtake on F1.

    It was Rosberg's second win of the season following his victory two weeks ago at the Spanish GP, and he became the first driver since Ayrton Senna to win the Monaco race three straight times.

    He is now right back in championship contention, but the circumstances of his win will likely infuriate Hamilton who was leading Rosberg by 15 seconds.

    Result (top-10):

    1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 
    2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 
    3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 
    4. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull - Renault 
    5. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault 
    6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 
    7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 
    8. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 
    9. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber - Ferrari 
    10. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - Renault 

    SOURCE: Al Jazeera and agencies


    'We will cut your throats': The anatomy of Greece's lynch mobs

    The brutality of Greece's racist lynch mobs

    With anti-migrant violence hitting a fever pitch, victims ask why Greek authorities have carried out so few arrests.

    The rise of Pakistan's 'burger' generation

    The rise of Pakistan's 'burger' generation

    How a homegrown burger joint pioneered a food revolution and decades later gave a young, politicised class its identity.

    From Cameroon to US-Mexico border: 'We saw corpses along the way'

    'We saw corpses along the way'

    Kombo Yannick is one of the many African asylum seekers braving the longer Latin America route to the US.