Hamilton storms to Chinese Grand Prix win

World champion leads from pole to seal his second win of the 2015 Formula One season.

    Hamilton has started from pole position in all three GPs this season [EPA]
    Hamilton has started from pole position in all three GPs this season [EPA]

    Lewis Hamilton helped Mercedes reassert their authority over Ferrari by leading home team mate Nico Rosberg in a dominant display for the German outfit at the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix.

    The race had a slightly anti-climatic feel to its conclusion as the cars crossed the line behind a safety car but Hamilton controlled events from the front and always looked good value for his 35th career win and record-extending fourth in China.

    Drivers standings (top-5)
    1.  Lewis Hamilton        68     
    2.  Sebastian Vettel      55     
    3.  Nico Rosberg           51     
    4.  Felipe Massa           30     
    5.  Kimi Raikkonen        24 

    After stunning Mercedes with a brilliant victory in Malaysia at the end of March, Sebastian Vettel threatened early in his Ferrari but once the cars were fitted with the medium-compound tyres for the final stint, the German's challenge faded.

    A third podium in as many races since joining from Red Bull was still a great result and he would have been the most relieved when Max Verstappen's engine failure brought out the safety car as his fast-finishing team mate Kimi Raikkonen was looming large in his wing mirrors.

    Hamilton's second win in three races allowed him to extend his lead at the top of the championship standings, the Briton moving on to 68 points with Vettel on 55 and Rosberg a further four points adrift.

    Sauber claimed a double points finish with Felipe Nasr claiming eighth and Swede Marcus Ericsson rounding out the top 10, the pair sandwiching Daniel Ricciardo, who endured another frustrating race in his underperforming Red Bull.

    McLaren continued their early season struggles with Fernando Alonso finishing a lap down in 13th, ahead of Jenson Button, who damaged his front wing while attempting a late race pass on Pastor Maldonado in the other Lotus.

    Final position (Top-10):

    1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 
    2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 
    3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari  
    4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari  
    5. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes  
    6. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes  
    7. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Mercedes  
    8. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber - Ferrari  
    9. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault 
    10. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari

    SOURCE: Reuters


    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    Interactive: Coding like a girl

    What obstacles do young women in technology have to overcome to achieve their dreams? Play this retro game to find out.

    Heron Gate mass eviction: 'We never expected this in Canada'

    Hundreds face mass eviction in Canada's capital

    About 150 homes in one of Ottawa's most diverse and affordable communities are expected to be torn down in coming months

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    I remember the day … I designed the Nigerian flag

    In 1959, a year before Nigeria's independence, a 23-year-old student helped colour the country's identity.