Native American tribes fight for recognition

About 250 tribes are not recognised by the government, such as in Virginia where contact with colonisers was first made.

There are 566 federally recognised Native American tribes taking part in the White House Tribal Nations conference.

But there are about 250 tribal nations that are not recognised by the US government.

These include all of the tribes in the state of Virginia, which were the first to make contact with Europeans.

Al Jazeera’s Shihab Rattansi reports from King William College, Virginia.

Source: Al Jazeera

More from News
Most Read