Timeline: Nobel roll of honour

A rundown of winners of the Nobel Peace Prize since 1980 and key citations from the Nobel committee:

2005 – International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and its director general, Mohamed ElBaradei of Egypt
“for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”

2004 – Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai
“for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace”

2003 – Iranian human rights lawyer Shirin Ebadi
“for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children.”

2002 – Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter
“for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development”

2001 – The United Nations and Secretary-General Kofi Annan
“for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world”

2000 – South Korean President Kim Dae-jung
“for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular”

1999 – Medical aid charity Medecins Sans Frontieres
“in recognition of the organization’s pioneering humanitarian work on several continents”

1998 – Northern Ireland politicians John Hume and David Trimble
“for their efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict in Northern Ireland”

1997 – The International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL) and campaign coordinator Jody Williams
“for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines”

1996 – Roman Catholic Bishop Carlos Belo and Jose Ramos Horta
“for their work towards a just and peaceful solution to the conflict in East Timor”

1995 – Veteran anti-nuclear campaigner Joseph Rotblat and his Pugwash organisation
“for their efforts to diminish the part played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the longer run, to eliminate such arms”

1994 – Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin, Foreign Minister Shimon Peres and Palestine Liberation Organisation chairman Yasser Arafat
“for their efforts to create peace in the Middle East”

1993 – African National Congress leader Nelson Mandela and South African President F.W. de Klerk
“for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa”

1992 – Rigoberta Menchu, Guatemalan campaigner for Indian human rights
“in recognition of her work for social justice and ethno-cultural reconciliation based on respect for the rights of indigenous peoples”

1991 – Detained Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi
“for her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights”

1990 – Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev
“for his leading role in the peace process which today characterizes important parts of the international community”

1989 – The Dalai Lama, exiled spiritual and political leader of Tibet “for his consistent resistance to the use of violence in his people’s struggle to regain their liberty”

1988 – United Nations Peacekeeping Forces
“the UN forces represent the manifest will of the community of nations to achieve peace through negotiations, and the forces have, by their presence, made a decisive contribution towards the initiation of actual peace negotiations”

1987 – Costa Rican President Oscar Arias
“for his work for peace in Central America, efforts which led to the accord signed in Guatemala on August 7 this year”

1986 – Elie Wiesel, Jewish author and human rights campaigner
“one of the most important spiritual leaders and guides in an age when violence, repression and racism continue to characterise the world”

1985 – International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, led by Yevgeny Chazov of the Soviet Union and Bernard Lown of the United States
“In accordance with the ancient Hippocratic Oath, which demands a dedication without compromise to the protection of life and health, this organization has indicated, using the evidence of medical science, the dangers to life and health which atomic weapons represent.”

1984 – Desmond Tutu, head of Anglican Church in South Africa and anti-apartheid campaigner
“Desmond Tutu has shown that to campaign for the cause of peace is not a question of silent acceptance, but rather of arousing consciences and a sense of indignation, strengthening the will and inspiring the human spirit so that it recognises both its own value and its power of victory.”

1983 – Lech Walesa, leader of Poland’s Solidarity trade union
“It is the Committee’s opinion that he stands as an inspiration and a shining example to all those who, under different conditions, fight for freedom and humanity.”

1982 – Shared by Sweden’s Minister for Disarmament Alva Myrdal and Mexican diplomat and former Foreign Minister Alfonso Garcia Robles
“in recognition of the intense endeavours undertaken by two people to find constructive solutions to difficult international disarmament negotiations”

1981 – Office of the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees
“for all it has done for countless refugees”

1980 – Argentine human rights campaigner Adolfo Perez Esquivel
“He champions a solution of Argentina’s grievous problems that dispenses with the use of violence, and is the spokesman of a revival of respect for human rights”

Source : Al Jazeera

More from News
Most Read