US extends new passport deadline

The United States has given countries with visa-waiver agreements an extra year to start issuing passports with biometric measures such as fingerprints.

    Most visitors are fingerprinted and photographed on arrival

    The 27 nations affected, which include close allies like the UK, Japan and Australia, now have until 26 October 2005 to start issuing the passports under a US law designed to tighten border security after the September 11 attacks.

    The Bush administration sought an extension after concluding most of the countries, whose citizens are generally permitted to visit the US without a visa for up to 90 days, would miss the original 26 October 2004 deadline.

    In April, the Bush administration said it would begin fingerprinting and photographing visitors from visa-waiver countries, extending a policy that applies to most foreigners who visit the US.

    The extension applies to Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Britain, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

    SOURCE: Agencies


    'We will cut your throats': The anatomy of Greece's lynch mobs

    The brutality of Greece's racist lynch mobs

    With anti-migrant violence hitting a fever pitch, victims ask why Greek authorities have carried out so few arrests.

    The rise of Pakistan's 'burger' generation

    The rise of Pakistan's 'burger' generation

    How a homegrown burger joint pioneered a food revolution and decades later gave a young, politicised class its identity.

    From Cameroon to US-Mexico border: 'We saw corpses along the way'

    'We saw corpses along the way'

    Kombo Yannick is one of the many African asylum seekers braving the longer Latin America route to the US.