Hooker and 91-Test veteran Stephen Moore has been named Wallabies captain for this month's test series against France and the important lead-up to next year's Rugby World Cup.

Moore, who takes over the leadership almost a decade after his Australia debut, succeeds Ben Mowen who has relinquished the captaincy to continue his professional career in France.

For me the most important thing is not about getting an opportunity, it's ultimately about what you do with it.

Stephen Moore, Australia captain

Centre Adam Ashley-Cooper and flanker Michael Hooper have been appointed vice captains in a seasoned leadership group which coach Ewen McKenzie said is 'empowered to help set a new direction towards the Rugby World Cup in 2015'.

"For me the most important thing is not about getting an opportunity, it's ultimately about what you do with it," Moore said of his appointment.

McKenzie said the new leadership group under Moore brought 'a variety of personalities and experiences' to their roles which he expected to benefit the Wallabies team.

Unfazed by challenge

"He won't be fazed by the challenge of captaincy. He understands what works well and why and I think the added responsibility will suit him and the direction we are taking the team," he said of Moore.

Moore's coach at the ACT Brumbies and former Wallabies teammate Stephen Larkham said Moore was '100 percent a good choice'.

"He speaks well in front of the group, always says the right things and is very disciplined off the field," Larkham said. "He's been the most consistent performer for the Wallabies in the past year and for the Brumbies."

With 91 Tests each Moore and Ashley-Cooper are Australia’s two most capped Test representatives in the current squad.

The selection of Hooper as vice-captain is another honour for the 22-year-old who over the past three seasons has won the John Eales Medal for Players’ Player (2013), Australia’s Wallaby of the Year (2013), Australian Super Rugby Player of the Year (2013), Wallabies Rookie of the Year (2012), and Australian Under 20s Player of the Year (2011).

Source: AP