The Los Angeles Kings moved one step closer to a second Stanley Cup title in three years after mounting a stunning fightback to beat the New York Rangers 5-4 in double overtime and end a wild Game Two.

The Kings hoisted the coveted trophy for the first time in 2012 while the Rangers, one of the National Hockey League's Original Six franchises, have clinched the championship title on four occasions, most recently in 1994.

The speedy Rangers, back in the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in two decades, made an impressive start and had four shots on goal before the Kings forced New York netminder Henrik Lundqvist to make his first save of the night.

Defenseman Ryan McDonagh put the Rangers ahead with his fourth goal of the playoffs after almost 11 minutes, his long-range wrist shot from the left side finding the top right corner of the net.

The Kings pulled one back early in the second period, centre Jarret Stoll scoring with a wrist shot as Rangers defenseman Kevin Klein failed to sweep the puck away with Lundqvist out of the net and sprawled on the ice.

The Rangers went ahead 3-1 midway through the period when right wing Martin St. Louis, on a power play, scored his seventh goal of the playoffs on a pass from Derek Stepan, blasting the puck into the top right corner with a one-time shot.

Rangers blow lead

Two minutes into the third period, Los Angeles cut the deficit to 4-3 when forward Dwight King, as he fell over New York goaltender Lundqvist, scored with a deflection off a long-range blast by Matt Greene.

Less than six minutes later, Los Angeles tied the game when right wing Marian Gaborik scored his 13th goal of the playoffs after the Rangers defence failed to clear the puck but neither side was able to break the deadlock before regulation ended.

Both teams came close to scoring in the first period of extra time, the Kings killing off two power plays and the Rangers one, before Brown's deflection under Lundqvist's glove arm in double overtime ended the game.

The series shifts to New York for Game Three, which will be played at Madison Square Garden.

Source: Reuters