Northern Irish world number one Rory McIlroy was named as the PGA Tour's Player of the Year for a second time after a stellar 2014 campaign highlighted by two major victories.

The 25-year-old, who first landed the coveted honour in 2012, won consecutive majors this season at the British Open and PGA Championship, sandwiched around his victory at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

McIlroy won out over Billy Horschel, Martin Kaymer, Jimmy Walker and Bubba Watson in a vote of his peers.

He also earned the Arnold Palmer Award as the Tour's leading official money winner ($8,280,096) and claimed the Byron Nelson Award for adjusted scoring average (68.83).

American Chesson Hadley, winner of the Puerto Rico Open, was selected Rookie of the Year.

McIlroy displayed remarkable consistency, finishing no worse than 25th in any of his 17 tournament appearances and placed outside the top 10 only five times.

"It's a great honour and a great honour to win twice in the space of three years, and hopefully I can win it for many more years to come," McIlroy told reporters, speaking by telephone from the 18th tee at St. Andrews, where he was preparing for this week's European Tour event."

Source: Reuters