Lewis Hamilton cruised to victory in the inaugural Russian Grand Prix, leading a 1-2 finish for Mercedes that clinched its first Formula One constructors' title.

Nico Rosberg placed second despite having to pit early in the race but now trails teammate by 17 points in the drivers' standings, with three races remaining.

Hamilton won his fourth straight race and his ninth of the season and was presented the winner's trophy by Russia's president Vladimir Putin, who had pushed for his country to have a Formula One race.

Hamilton took the flag 13.6 seconds ahead of Rosberg. Valtteri Bottas was third in a Williams, 17.4 seconds back.

Hamilton became only the fourth driver in Formula One history to win nine races in a season. He equaled Nigel Mansell's record of 31 victories for a British driver.

The ninth 1-2 for Mercedes this season is one short of McLaren's 1988 record.

Drivers (Top-10)

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 291
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 274
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 199
4. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 145
5. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 143
6. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 141
7. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 94
8. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 76
9. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 71
10. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 49

Constructors (Top-5)

1. Mercedes 565
2. RedBull - Renault 342
3. Williams-Mercedes 216
4. Ferrari 188
5. McLaren 143

Source: Reuters