Liverpool striker Luis Suarez completed his redemption from outcast to hero when he was named England's Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association (FWA).

The prestigious honour completes an award double after he was named the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) player of the year last month.

Recent FWA winners

2012-13: Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

11-12: Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

10-11: Scott Parker (West Ham)

09-10: Wayne Rooney (Man Utd)

08-09: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

The 27-year-old Uruguayan finished ahead of team mate Steven Gerrard and Yaya Toure of Manchester City in the poll of England's football writers and the honour follows an astonishing turnaround for Suarez who began this season serving the remainder of a 10-match ban imposed for biting Chelsea's Branislav Ivanovic last April.

Although he missed the first five games of the season, the controversial striker, who will play against Gerrard and England in the World Cup in Brazil next month, is the Premier League's top scorer this season with 30 goals with two matches remaining.

His goals have sustained Liverpool's Premier League title challenge - the Anfield Club are behind leaders Manchester City on goal difference with two matches remaining.

Suarez polled 52 percent of the vote of around 300 members. Last year he polled two votes.

Source: Reuters