Real to take on Bayern in CL semis

Carlo Ancelotti's side to host holders in first-leg while La Liga leaders Atletico pitted against Chelsea.

Last updated: 11 Apr 2014 10:56
Email Article
Print Article
Share article
Send Feedback
The Champions League final will be played in Lisbon on May 26 [GALLO/GETTY]

Real Madrid will play defending champions Bayern Munich while Atletico Madrid will face Chelsea in the semi-finals of the Champions League.

Madrid and Bayern have combined to win 14 European Cup or Champions League titles. They have also been runners-up a further eight times, yet never met in the final.

Five-time winners Bayern are seeking to become the first team in 24 years to repeat as Europe's top club.

Atletico will host the first-leg against Chelsea, which it routed 4-1 in the UEFA Super Cup two years ago.

The first-legs will be played April 22 and 23, with the return matches on April 29 and 30.

The final is scheduled for May 24 at the Stadium of Light in Lisbon.

In the Europa league, Benfica will take on Juventus while the second semi-final will be an all-Spanish affair with Sevilla taking on Valencia.


Al Jazeera and agencies
Email Article
Print Article
Share article
Send Feedback
Topics in this article
Featured on Al Jazeera
UNHCR says hundreds of people trapped in Yaloke town risk death if they are not evacuated to safety urgently.
'Justice for All' demonstrations swell across the US over the deaths of African Americans in police encounters.
Six former Guantanamo detainees are now free in Uruguay with some hailing the decision to grant them asylum.
Disproportionately high number of Aboriginal people in prison highlights inequality and marginalisation, critics say.
< >