South Africa coach Gordon Igesund included seven stars from championship leaders Kaizer Chiefs in his 23-man Africa Cup of Nations squad on Sunday.

Goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, defenders Siboniso Gaxa and Tshepo Masilela, midfielders Reneilwe Letsholonyane and Siphiwe Tshabalala and strikers Lehlohonolo Majoro and Bernard Parker come from the league pacesetters.

There are also four stars from second-place Orlando Pirates, two from Mamelodi Sundowns and one each from Bloemfontein Cetlic, Moroka Swallows and Platinum Stars to swell the local contingent to 16 players.

Captain and centre-back Bongani Khumalo from Greek outfit PAOK is among seven Europe-based players and the list includes fit-again Ajax Amsterdam midfielder Thulani Serero.

There are also call ups for midfielders Kagisho Dikgacoi and Dean Furman, who play in England for second-tier Crystal Palace and third-tier Oldham Athletic respectively.

Sweden-based midfielder Max Mahlangu and striker Tokelo Rantie and defender Anele Ngcongca from Belgian club Racing Genk complete the overseas-based South Africans for the January 19-February 10 tournament.

South Africa, who won the Cup of Nations when they last hosted it 16 years ago, are in Group A with Angola, former champions Morocco and debutants Cape Verde Islands.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Siboniso Gaxa and Tshepo Masilela (Chiefs), Thabo Matlaba and Siyabonga Sangweni (Pirates), Bongani Khumalo (PAOK/GRE, capt), Anele Ngcongca (Genk/BEL), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Midfielders: Reneilwe Letsholonyane and Siphiwe Tshabalala (Chiefs), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace/ENG), Dean Furman (Oldham/ENG), Max Mahlangu (Helsingborg/SWE), Oupa Manyisa (Pirates), Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam/NED)

Strikers: Lehlohonolo Majoro and Bernard Parker (Chiefs), Katlego Mphela (Sundowns), Tokelo Rantie (Malmo/SWE)

Source: AFP