Murali heads Down Under
Sri Lankan spin legend will join Victoria for Australian T20 competition.
Last Modified: 26 Aug 2009 11:09 GMT

Murali is moving to Shane Warne's old club in Victoria [AFP]
Muttiah Muralitharan, the leading wicket taker in international cricket, is to join Victoria for the upcoming Australian domestic Twenty20 competition.

Cricket Victoria chief executive Tony Dodemaide announced the signing, saying the Sri Lankan spin great would join West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo as the Bushrangers' international players for the interstate T20 league.

Victoria was also home to Australia's leading spinner Shane Warne.

Warne retired from Test cricket in 2006-07 as the leading wicket taker in Test cricket with 708 dismissals - a mark Muralitharan passed in December, 2007.

'True legend'

"Murali is without peer in terms of current spinners in world cricket and a true legend of the game,'' Dodemaide said in a statement.

"He holds records for the most wickets in both Test and one-day cricket and has an impressive record in Twenty20s as well, capable of match-turning spells and conceding less than 6 runs an over on average - a remarkable performance in this frenetic new format.''

Muralitharan, who was no-balled for chucking at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in 2005, and had regularly been subjected to barracking by Australian fans, was eager to experience being a crowd favourite at the 100,000-capacity ground.

"What a thrill it will be to play in front of a 'home' crowd at the mighty MCG,'' he said in a statement.

"It's an exciting prospect and a great honour, and I look forward to playing my part in the Bushrangers' team and hopefully entertaining Victorian and Australian fans.''

The trophy for the Australia-Sri Lanka Test series is named after both of the great spin bowlers, something Muralitharan noted ahead of the signing.

"Shane Warne and I share the honour of having a trophy that bears our names, and I'm delighted to be following in his footsteps as a Victorian spinner.''

Australia's six state teams are each allowed two international players for the December 28-January 23 T20 competition.

The two finalists in the competition qualify for the Champions League, which features the leading T20 provincial teams from around the world.

Victoria and New South Wales qualified for the inaugural Champions League, which will be held in India in October.

Topics in this article
Featured on Al Jazeera
UNHCR says hundreds of people trapped in Yaloke town risk death if they are not evacuated to safety urgently.
'Justice for All' demonstrations swell across the US over the deaths of African Americans in police encounters.
Six former Guantanamo detainees are now free in Uruguay with some hailing the decision to grant them asylum.
Disproportionately high number of Aboriginal people in prison highlights inequality and marginalisation, critics say.
Long-standing dispute over Christian use of the word 'Allah' raises concerns about a very un-Merry Christmas.
The threat posed by ISIL has prompted thousands of young Kurds to join the PKK.
Baja California - with its own grim history of disappeared people - finds a voice in the fight against violence.
Russian feminist rockers fight system holding 700,000 - the world's largest per capita prison population after the US.
Weeks of growing protests against Muslims continue in Dresden with 15,000 hitting the streets last Monday.