The UAE president approved the changes, proposed by Shaikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, the Prime Minister, who took the post on 5 January after the death of his brother, the official news agency WAM reported on Friday.
The top ministers - Defence, Interior, Finance, Economy and Energy - all remained the same.

Several ministries were eliminated, including Agriculture, Transport, Information, which were reduced to agencies.

Five new ministries were created, including Environment, Culture and Youth.

Eight new faces

The UAE was created in 1971,
uniting seven Gulf emirates

With the changes, there are eight new faces in the 21-member Cabinet, including a woman, Mariam Mohammed Khalfan al-Roumi, who took the newly created Social Affairs ministry.

She joins Shaikha Lubna bint Khalid al-Qasimi, who kept her position as Economy minister.

It was the seventh cabinet since the UAE was created in 1971, uniting seven Gulf emirates. 

Shaikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahayn, the President, is the ruler of the largest emirate Abu Dhabi, while the ruler of the emirate of Dubai traditionally holds the posts of prime minister and vice president.

Shaikh Mohammed became Dubai's ruler after his older brother, Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum, died on 4 January at age 62.